Meet the Biggest Boy Band of All Time: Super Junior

Sorry, Sorry
Super Junior

"Sorry, Sorry" is the latest song from the K-pop boy band, Super Junior. And when I say "boy band," I mean the biggest boy band of all time; Super Junior has no less than thirteen members: Leeteuk, Heechul, Han Geng, Yesung, Kang-in, Shindong, Sungmin, Eunhyuk, Donghae, Siwon, Ryeowook, Kibum, and Kyuhyun. And no, I can't tell them apart yet. Even Perez Hilton has taken notice of this super-sized boy band.

Prior to the release of "Sorry Sorry," Super Junior hadn't released a song here since "Don't Don" in late 2007. With no singles and lots of competition, they've been losing their place among boy band-loving teens like my students. TVXQ (also known as Dong Bang Shin Ki in Korea), FT Island, and especially Big Bang have consistently been ranked as the best by my girls. If I mentioned Super Junior, it was always met with, "No, teacher. Not Super Junior. They are not good." But, judging from the dancing around my classroom, I'm pretty sure Super Junior is gaining in popularity once again.

My students made a cute video of the teachers for Teacher's Day. It was styled like a music video for this song, with some teachers and students dancing, posing, or catwalking. Not gonna lie, I was disappointed that I wasn't asked to dance; my part was limited to a goofy smile. But I found this video with all the dance moves so I can practice, and maybe I'll be ready for next time.